My Kids Have Fur!

I have a hereditary disease that I wish to stamp out in my lifetime because anyone who has this disease has a 50 % chance of passing it on, which means if you have 2 children 1 child will have this disease and the other won’t. I consider this way too high a percentage for anyone to consider having a child. There is no cure for this disease if you are born with it, there are a couple of things that can be done surgically to give you the best quality of life that you can possibly have if you inherited it but that is all that can be done for those of us that have been born with this disease. After having had this disease for 55 years there has been absolutely nothing more they can do for it now than they could do for it from when I was 6 years old. The research money they are spending for this disease is wasted money since the simplest and most effective way to stamp it out is to not “breed”. So given that, it seemed to me that the best thing I could do for the world was to love and mentor my nephews (because she was born without this disease she will not pass it on), that were born to my sister who didn’t inherit my disease, besides not to procreate any children if you have this disease. The way this disease works is if you have it you will pass it on to 50% of your children, unacceptable odds even in card games, and if you were born without the disease then you can safely have children. So my sister, and her children, are free from this disease, this disease which is crippling and disabling but not life threatening, unless you consider the quality of life a threat – which I do! So since I will not condemn a child to the life I have had to overcome I have chosen furry creatures to be my children and they have given me some of the most fulfilling relationships I have ever had, including the ones I have had with non furry creatures, or humans as they are usually referred to. Canines and felines are senescent beings, which means they are “Living things are difficult to define, but life forms can be considered to be the most complex entities in the arena or environment in which they exist” , this is a definition that I found on the internet. So my furry children are equal to children except that human children aren’t furry.  I feel a great deal of pride to have contributed to the success of my sister’s children which I helped to raise but  I also feel a great sense of pride in having contributed to the raising of the animal “people” that have inhabited my life ever since I can remember. I do not believe that human life is any more valuable than animal life, as no one died and left me God of which life forms are the most important. I will say that I don’t feel a “fly” and other creatures like it, have the same importance or value of life as the furry creatures I share my life with because you do have to draw the line somewhere and in my opinion the idea of intelligence does start with mammals. I do believe that their are life forms that exist in our world that do really exist but they do not have a brain, or if they do it is not in a form that we can recognize. So given this is the perspective that I face the world with then I have every right to find my furry friends the equal of their hairless competitors. I was watching my small (okay she is not small compared to her 130 pound boyfriend) wolf dog laying on the floor next to me and she looked up at me with her big beautiful brown eyes and they said “You are my best friend and I love you” and all I could think is what could be more special than that? I don’t think anything can be, human or animal.

Niner's Big Brown Eyes!

Niner’s Big Brown Eyes!

One thought on “My Kids Have Fur!

  1. I have only been able to produce girls – in canine form. Not sure why that is, but it is true. My daughter has two brothers – of the two legged kind (she is actually of the three legged kind) and we are 4 peas in a pod. & I would not have it any other way!

Leave a Reply

