Looking for Signs of Life on the Internet!

From recent news it seems obvious there are a lot of people who feel like they are alone, or are lonely, or isolated for mental or physical reasons. I don’t really think that most of us really want to be alone but for various reasons we sometimes find it difficult to find a place to meet other people we feel comfortable sharing some of our personal issues with. A great many people are turning to the internet to help fill this void, and as if you need proof of that there is the current high profile case of the young football player who said he had been in a relationship with a girl on the internet for over a year or longer until it ended with his being led to believe she had died. He may or may not have been the victim of a deception of some kind for some as yet unknown reason on someone’s part to imitate a girl that wasn’t real. It really doesn’t matter if it was a hoax on someone else’s part, because for him the relationship was real and it was the result of his finding a friend on the internet and having what he felt was a real relationship. Relationships that are not sincere or real happen with real live flesh and blood humans quite often as well, so the idea of a false internet relationship is no less believable than having something had similar happen in real life, because after all anything that happens to you in your life is real for you. There is also the case of the young man who had this happen to him a few years ago and he made a movie about it and now has a television show in which he is trying to help other people who are involved with fairly long term relationships on the internet that the other person seems to be trying to avoid meeting them.  Yesterday I was watching the morning TV show I usually watch and it said that 75% of the 55 million single people are turning to the internet to find dates, so we are not only looking for signs of life we are also looking for love on the internet.  This makes the internet an even more powerful force than it already was.

So it obviously appears that more and more people are turning to the internet to fill some kind of void in their life and it can just be to make contact with others and it doesn’t necessarily mean that they are looking for romance but they are looking for a human to share feelings with, one that will hopefully understand what they are feeling.  It does help us all to talk about the things that are on our minds, good and bad, and this is not just my opinion or there wouldn’t be therapists and meetings of groups of people who have some issue in common they want or need to share with others by talking about their life.  You can meet real people on the internet and the site I am writing about is the best place I know to do it!

I was going through a rather rough patch a couple of months ago and this project, the one I am presenting to you in this manuscript, is what resulted after an afternoon of googling on my computer.  I was home alone (this has been my normal for several years) with my animal buddies that are the roommates that I live with, and I started randomly typing phrases for all the feelings I was going through at that time in the “Google” search engine box on my computer.  Most of the searches turned up definitions for one or two of the words I had used in my description, which was not at all what I was looking for and I found nothing helpful in trying to find someone to talk to about what I was going through.  You might ask why I didn’t go to a meeting of live humans to talk to.  It is because there is no group for the issues a lot of us go through if we are not an alcoholic, a drug addict, or into religious things.  Not that I can say I actually knew exactly what I was looking for, which is the case for a lot of us “human beans”.  The date was November 19, 2012 and I was trying to find a way to connect with other people going through some of the same type of physical and emotional trauma that I had been dealing with.  Then out of nowhere I really got a hit that gave me a link to one of the emotional phrases I had been typing typed into the search box, this one was “I need someone to talk to” and much to my amazement there was what looked like a promising link to click on.  So of course I did.  This was the way the link showed up on the page:  I Need Someone to Talk to – Experience Project Have You Need Someone To Talk To? Join 20418 friendly people sharing 5288 true stories in the I Need Someone to Talk to group. Find forums, advice and http://www.experienceproject.com/groups/Need-Someone-To-Talk-To/4603.  I followed that link and found this site’s concept fascinating and have now posted around a hundred stories or experiences and I belong to one hundred and fifteen of what this site calls groups which are groups based on shared experiences.  I have met some interesting people and have also written words of my experiences trying to help some of them who are younger and haven’t lived long enough to realize a lot of their angst just is part of living and really will get better, even if things sometimes seem hopeless.  There are members of EP that have been involved with the site for several years and belong to hundreds or thousands of groups, there are people who have written hundreds of stories and people who have only written a few. There are people joining every day and many are finding that there is no better place to share the things in life that bind all of us together.

The Experience Project is a social networking site, like Facebook and MySpace are, its big difference is that it is one that is based on what you know and have experienced in life as opposed to who you know. They say on their promotional information that over five million people use the site. In this story I am writing what I am going to share with you here is the stories/experiences that I have written to share with the members of this site, as well as some of the comments and support I have gotten back from them.  I hope I can intrigue and entice you enough that you will join in this experience of sharing your varied experiences with the world and maybe take away a feeling that maybe we all live in the same world and should and can help each other in trying to cope with all the wacky things that life can throw at you.  EP is not intended as a hook up site but as a way to help yourself and others connect with all the other people in the world that we have something in common with.  That being said it doesn’t mean you can’t meet someone on the site only that it isn’t the site’s primary reason for existing. I have found that the people using this site are aware of the fragile state of some of the users psyche and almost all make polite and encouraging comments most of the time, which shows this site to have above average users because of their sensitivity.

Looking For Signs Of Life On The Internet

Looking For Signs Of Life On The Internet

 

Leave a Reply

