I Am Not A Rock Nor An Island!

When I was around eight years old a song was released by Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel called “I Am A Rock” and because my mother was a fan of them it was an album that was played in my house soon after it was released.  I was a scared, confused and lonely child and this particular song hit home for the way I felt about my life at that time and for many years after it was first released.  I was comforted by listening to it because it did make me feel that I wasn’t alone in the feelings I had about my life and the world I lived in.  I could really relate to the idea that I was a rock and an island unto myself  because I didn’t feel like anybody in my life understood how I was feeling, and they probably didn’t, but as you get older you realize that is a normal state of affairs and no one can totally understand what you are feeling but you do find out that there are whole lot of people who have experienced very similar experiences to yours even if they are not exactly the same.  And I have also discovered through the years that I am not a rock and not even close to being an island and I do need friendship and it doesn’t always cause pain.  It is still a song that brings back a lot of childhood memories, some good and some bad, as is the nature of all things in our world.

A winter’s day
In a deep and dark December;
I am alone,
Gazing from my window to the streets below
On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

I’ve built walls,
A fortress deep and mighty,
That none may penetrate.
I have no need of friendship; friendship causes pain.
It’s laughter and it’s loving I disdain.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

Don’t talk of love,
Well, I’ve heard the word before.
It’s sleeping in my memory.
I won’t disturb the slumber of feelings that have died.
If I never loved I never would have cried.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

I have my books
And my poetry to protect me;
I am shielded in my armor,
Hiding in my room, safe within my womb.
I touch no one and no one touches me.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

And a rock feels no pain;
And an island never cries.

Thank you to the author of this lovely and lonely song!

The darkness of sunset is my friend!

The darkness of sunset is my friend!

Leave a Reply

